My University Experience 2011-2014

I Started University when In September 2011 at London Metropolitan University. I studied  a BA Music Industry and Media Business Management.

I chose this course because I wanted to work in the music industry as A&R or a manager for a record label eventually.

I live in Leicester so I moved to London which a 2 hour drive away. I lived in Private halls in Tottenham where I was born and lived till I was 10.

I didn’t have any friends at this uni and I didn’t know anyone at all. I am a reserved shy person, some who cant approach people which eventually made me very lonely. I couldn’t make friends.

While doing my Coursework I felt like I was just doing research on my own and I haven’t been taught any practical skills. a lot of it was theory.

I struggled to do the 2500-3000 word assignments but I got there in the end.

Because I couldn’t make any friends I couldn’t ask anyone for help or notes ect… it stressed me out to the point I got sick and lost a lot of weight and couldn’t even stand up.

Now looking back I wish I thought about what I really wanted to do career wise an choose a course that would give me practical skills.

I now want to work in tv/film production but I don’t have the practical skills/experience for the job. I also cant afford to do a course that would teach me these skills.

tips

  • Make sure u know exactly what you want to do career wise before you apply
  • Try and make friends before you start your course, go to freshers week, join the university facebook page.
  • If you can, take a gap year, work for a bit and save some money if you don’t know what you want to do
  • While your at University, do some work experience with companies you might want to work for in the future.

goodluck!

Leave a Reply

